Meet the board of directors responsible for Ronald McDonald House Charities.

Malcolm Coutts (OAM) – CEO

Malcolm is the CEO of Ronald McDonald House Charities Australia. He is also the Asia Pacific, Middle East and Africa member of the RMHC Global Advisory Council. Since 1995 Malcolm has been responsible for developing RMHC Australia. He was formerly a Senior Manager, Corporate Reconstruction at Coopers & Lybrand. Prior to that he was a Junior Officer of the Royal Australian Navy.


Andrew Gregory - Chairman

Andrew was appointed to the Board of RMHC in 2014 and is the Managing Director of McDonald’s Australia Ltd. Andrew was previously the Chief Financial Officer of McDonald's Australia Ltd, responsible for finance and restaurant development. 


Stephen Jermyn

Stephen was appointed to the Board of RMHC in 1985 and is a member of the Audit & Finance & Investment committees. He is the former Deputy Managing Director of McDonald’s Australia Ltd and currently holds directorships at Mortgage Choice Ltd and Reverse Corp Ltd. Steve was in the Australian Army, then worked as CFO for O'Brien Glass before coming CFO of McDonald’s Australia.


Julie Flynn

Julie was appointed to the Board of RMHC in 2003 and is currently the CEO of FreeTV (formerly Commercial Television Association of Australia). She was previously the News Director at 2UE Radio and the President of the Canberra Press Gallery.


Professor Les White

Les White was appointed as the inaugural NSW Chief Paediatrician in September, 2010. He is the prior Executive Director of Sydney Children's Hospital (1995–2010), President of Children’s Hospitals and Paediatric Units Australasia  (1999-2004), Convenor of the Greater Eastern and Southern NSW Child Health Network (2001–2010) and the John Beveridge Professor of Paediatrics (2005-2010). He was awarded a Doctorate of Science for research contributions related to childhood cancer and holds a Master of Health Administration. In 2007 he received an Order of Australia award for service to medicine, medical administration and the community in the field of paediatrics. His interests include organisational culture in health services, teamwork and the role of clinicians in management.


Jennifer Lavoipierre

Jennifer was appointed to the Board of RMHC in 2013. As the mother of a young adult cancer survivor, Jenny and her family were frequent users of Ronald McDonald House, Randwick. She is also an educator whose professional interests focus on individual student needs and, in particular, the learning needs of those with serious illness. Jenny is a Parent Representative on the Education Pathways Committee of Management, in collaboration with RMHC, and is a member of the Parent Advisory Council for the Kids' Cancer Centre at The Children's Hospital, Randwick. As a recipient of a NSW Premier's Teacher's Scholarship (2011), she travelled to the USA to research strategies to support the education of students with serious illness. Her advocacy work in this field continues.


Stewart Leeman

Stewart became a career public servant in 1967 and, except for a period of conscription in 1970/71, still continues in that role. He was appointed Project Director for completion of the construction of John Hunter Hospital in 1990, immediately following the 1989 earthquake.  That position evolved into Manager Capital Works for Hunter Health and subsequently for Hunter New England Health, where he still serves. Stewart's first Ronald McDonald House meeting was in 1986 when the proposal was made to build on the Newcastle hospital site. He was the first Secretary for Red Gum House Inc. when it was formed in 1988. He has been a Board member since then, serving in a range of roles, and is the current President of Red Gum House Inc. The Newcastle House opened in 1991 and here he is still an active volunteer.


Carolyn Townsend

Carolyn was appointed to the Board of RMHC in 2013. After completing a Bachelor of Commerce, Industrial Relations in 2002, Carolyn began volunteering at the Randwick Ronald McDonald House and joined the Board of Management, Randwick Chapter, in 2003. During her 12 years as a volunteer at the Randwick House, Carolyn has served as Secretary and President. Carolyn is also the current Vice President of the Randwick Chapter.


Tony Aichinger

Tony is a McDonald’s Owner Operator who operates four restaurants in the regional town of Wagga Wagga. He is heavily involved in RMHC as the inaugural chair, and now Board member, of RMH Wagga Wagga. In addition he is a current Board member of the National Board of RMHC and is an active fundraiser via annual bike rides and the annual RMHC NSW Ball.


Henry Shiner

Henry was appointed to the Board of RMHC in December 2013. After an 11-year career in manufacturing, he decided on a vertical market change and joined McDonald's Australasia in May, 2007, as VP, Chief Information Officer for Australia/New Zealand/Pacific. As CIO, Henry is responsible for IT strategy and implementation at both a corporate and restaurant level for the McDonald’s business across Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific Islands.